Original Life Logo

Writing contests, competitions and opportunities – August 2019

writing opportunities, writing competitions, writing contests

We’ve brought together August’s best competitions and opportunities, open to writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and flash fiction. 

All the competitions listed should be open to writers across the UK and most are open internationally too. We share details of prizes, requirements, eligibility, entry fees (some are free) and deadlines to help you choose the right ones for you.

Costa Short Story Award

The prestigious, Costa Short Story Award is now open for entries from authors based in the UK and Ireland. Submit fiction of up to 4,000 words. Only one story may be entered per author and it must be original, unpublished and not broadcast. 

Curtis Brown First Novel Prize 

As part of its 120th birthday celebrations, literary agency, Curtis Brown – in partnership with Curtis Brown Creative – has launched the inaugural Curtis Brown First Novel Prize. The mission is to find exciting new voices of the future. Tracy Chevalier, bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring and A Single Thread, will chair the judging panel formed of Curtis Brown agents and the Curtis Brown Creative team

Writer’s Digest Self-Published Ebook Awards

The Writer’s Digest Self-Published Ebook Awards honour the best self-published books with a total of $13,000 in cash prizes on offer. There are eight categories covering some of the most popular genres including contemporary fiction, romance, fantasy, science fiction, mystery/thriller, memoir, young adult and nonfiction. Entries are open to authors from most countries in the world.

The Palette Emerging Poet Prize

The Palette Emerging Poet Prize is open to writers around the world with fewer than two full-length collections out at the time of submission. There is no page requirement but submissions must be no more than three poems. Ten finalists will be selected by the editors and guest judge Kim Addonizio will then select the winner and two runner ups. Kim is the author of seven poetry collections, two novels, two story collections and two books on writing poetry.

Room Magazine Poetry Contest 

The 2019 poetry contest will be judged by Jamaican-Canadian author Pamela Mordecai who writes stories and poems for adults and children. She has published six books of poetry and her debut novel was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. 

Omnidawn Open Poetry Book Contest

The Omnidawn Open Poetry Book contest is open to all writers worldwide with no limitations as to the amount of poetry a writer has published. Submissions should include 40–120 pages of poetry (not including front and back matter). The judge is Rachel Zucker.

UNO Press Publishing Lab Prize

The UNO Press Publishing Lab, based in the University of New Orleans, is on the hunt for the best book or short story collection written this year. The contest is open to all authors regardless of publishing history.

Retreat West Novel Prize

Win a publishing deal with Retreat West Books which was shortlisted as Most Innovative Publisher in the 2019 Saboteur Awards. The judges are seeking new, unagented authors with exciting novels to share. Submit the first 7,500 words of your novel and a synopsis of up to 500 words. The judge is Amanda Saint, author, publisher and founder of Retreat West.

Aesthetica Creative Writing Award 

The Aesthetica Creative Writing Award is seeking talented new writers of short fiction and poetry. The prize is organised by the art and culture publication, Aesthetica Magazine. Short fiction entered should be no more than 2,000 words and poetry a maximum of 40 lines. 

The Reflex Fiction International Flash Fiction Competition

The latest round of the Reflex Fiction Flash Fiction Competition is open to stories between 180 and 360 words. The competition is run by dedicated flash fiction writers who are passionate about promoting the craft. 

The BookLife Prize – Fiction Contest

The BookLife Prize is an annual writing competition sponsored by BookLife and Publishers Weekly. The Prize seeks to support independent authors and discover great written works across the categories of Romance/Erotica; Mystery/Thriller; Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror; General Fiction; and Middle-Grade and YA Fiction. The Prize is judged by Publishers Weekly reviewers, editors, acclaimed authors and publishing veterans. 

Kindle Storyteller Award

The Kindle Storyteller Award is a literary prize that recognises outstanding writing. It is open to authors publishing in English, in any genre, through Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing. Readers play a significant role in selecting the winner, helped by a panel of judges including various book industry experts. Books must be published between 1st May and 31 August. 

That’s it for this month but do join us on Facebook and Twitter to make sure you don’t miss out on new opportunities. 

You can also find details of more competitions coming up this year here.

If you’re running a great competition or are creating a wonderful opportunity for writers in the near future, do get in touch with us here. We publish the best every month on Lightbox Originals and promote even more on social media.

Related Articles

Join the Discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our inspirational magazine

Our free, bimonthly magazine will inspire you to live your original life, embrace creativity and write.

Your Basket